Home » Central Asia and Afghanistan, Cross-regional and Blogosphere, Culture and History, Media and Internet

NOVELLASIA: A New Fiction-Writing Competition for Central Asia

NewEurasia Citizen Media announces «Novellasia», a new fiction competition for Central Asia. The purpose of this competition is to help raise the profile of the region’s literary talents, both young and old, new and established.

We welcome writers who are citizens of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The writers may be never-before-published amateurs or well-established professionals, including bloggers, journalists, novelists, etc.

There is no age or gender limit, but contestants will be required to submit proof of Central Asian citizenship. The submissions themselves may take any form: journal-style, collections of short stories, novellas (short novels), etc. However, they must always be original works of fiction.

At the conclusion of the competition, 5 winners will be selected. They will receive cash prizes of 300 Euros each and their submissions will be translated into English and published on the NewEurasia website as “blog-novels”, meaning the content will be subdivided into series of blog posts. There will also be e-book formats of their submissions in English and the original language of their submission.

All other contestants will also be published, but only after the winners have been published, and only in the original language of their submission.


  • Submissions must be original works of fiction. They must not have been published anywhere else, or under consideration for publication.
  • Submissions must be no shorter than 30 type-written A4 pages and no longer than 100 type-written A4 pages. They must also be sent as MS Word docs, not pdfs or rtfs. If the work has audiovisual content or other special issues, please confer with NewEurasia before submitting.
  • Works must be submitted before April 1, 2014 to competition@neweurasia.net. (You may also write to this e-mail to request information.)

The winners will be announced on May 1, 2014.

«Novellasia» is supported by HIVOS foundation (Netherlands)

Bookmark and Share

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.